The UK comprises four different countries: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. The official name of the UK is The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Great Britain does not include Northern Ireland.

Anglo Educational Services is a customised educational tour company for educational and study abroad programmes, specialising in those based in London, the UK and Europe. We assist with programmes of any duration, from one day to a full academic year. In addition to subject-related visits, workshops and guided tours, we are able to arrange sightseeing and other programme support to create an affordable, tailor-made package for you. We can also provide accommodation options for groups, including centrally located hostels, hotels and apartments.

Facts about the UK

Population- 60.2 million (2005) Official Language- English Capital- London Area- 242,514 sq km Main religion- Christianity Currency- Pound Sterling (£1.00 equals 100 pence) Life expectancy- 76 (men) 81 (women) Main exports- Chemicals, foodstuffs and manufactured goods Head of State- Queen Elizabeth II


England is the largest country in the UK, and covers about two thirds of the land. England is home to more than 84% of the population of the UK. National Day- St George’s Day (23rd April) National Emblem- The Rose National Flag- The St George’s Cross, a red cross on a white background Capital- London


Wales is called Cymru in Welsh. It is located on the western side of the UK. Welsh people are often fiercely patriotic, and all signs in Wales are printed in both English and Welsh. National Day- St David’s Day (1st March) National Emblem- The Leek and the Daffodil National Flag- The Welsh Dragon, a red dragon on a background of white over green Capital- Cardiff


Scotland is in the northern part of the UK, and has the lowest population density of the UK. Scotland also has its own language, Celtic, although it is more common to hear English being spoken. Scotland is distinct from the rest of the UK in that they have their own education and legal system.

Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland is a part of the United Kingdom in the north-east of the island of Ireland. It is variously described as a country, province or region of the UK. Northern Island shares a border with the Republic of Ireland to the South. It has a population of roughly 1.8 million and since the Good Friday Agreement in 1998, is largely self-governed.

Newsletter Signup

Sign up to our newsletter to learn about new programmes, tours, apartments and much more!